Nokia 6212: Unlocking the Secure Element

In order to install your own Java Card Applets on to the Nokia 6212 Secure Element (SE) you will need to either talk to the TSM (Trusted Service Manager)(Venyon is the TSM for Nokia phones), OR, you can permanently unlock the SE by using Nokia’s UnlockMidlet (You will need to register to download. Registration is free).

First some warnings:

  • The unlock operation is PERMANENT, and cannot be undone.
  • After unlocking, no TSM will ever trust your secure element anymore, EVER (because you and other people now have access to the default keys).
  • If authentication fails more than 1o times in a row, the card manager will be locked, and you will not be able to install or delete any Applet to/from the SE.
  • Unlocking should only be performed if you want to use your phone for development or testing purposes.

You have been warned!

The UnlockMidlet establishes a secure (encrypted) connection between your SE and a Nokia server. The server will then communicate with your SE and set keyset 42 to the default keys (MAC/ENC/DEK = 404142434445464748494a4b4c4d4e4f), and the Mifare card emulation authentication keys (both key A and B) to FFFFFFFFFFFF.

Step by step:

  1. Download UnlockMidlet
  2. Upload to phone, using either bluetooth or micro-USB cable (in PC Suite mode)
  3. Make sure your phone is configured to use (GPRS) packet data (Settings -> Configuration -> Preferred access pt.)
  4. Start the UnlockMidlet.

At this point the unlock operation might fail due to “No Server Connection” (at least that happend to me). No matter how I configured the packet data settings, the UnlockMidlet always failed with “No Server Connection”.

However, there is another solution to unlock the SE, by using the SDK Emulator and a OmniKey Cardman 5321 reader:

  1. Download UnlockMidlet
  2. Download Nokia 6212 SDK (Requires registration. Registration is free).
  3. Get yourself a OmniKey Cardman 5321 Reader
  4. Download OnmiKey PCSC Driver, Synchronous API and Diagnostics Tool
  5. After installing the OmniKey software, run the Diagnostics Tool, and confirm that there is an ‘API’ tab listing “scardsyn.dll” (this dll is required when using this reader in the Nokia SDK).
  6. Run SDK ‘Emulator’, and in the Phone window, open the file menu and load the unlock midlet.
  7. In the Emulator window, drag and drop the cardman reader from “External Readers” to both 1: “Embedded Tag” and 2: “Embedded Smart Card”.
  8. On the Nokia 6212 phone, go to NFC settings and make sure “cards availability” is set to “always”.
  9. Place the 6212 on the OnmiKey reader, (lay it down on the reader and let it stay there until the unlock operation is completed).
  10. Proceed with the unlock operation in the midlet emulator.

Assuming the unlock operation was successful, you will now be able to install your own Java Card Applets using for example GPShell or GPJ (a pure java version).

11 responses to “Nokia 6212: Unlocking the Secure Element

  • ud

    Hi,

    interesting post. As I have no SIM card in my Nokia 6212, I tried to unlock the secure element with the SDK and the Omnikey reader as you described. But I get the error “no card connection”. Any ideas, what might be wrong?

    ud

  • laurent

    Hello,
    Me too. “no card connection” !!!!! when using the unlock midlet or the sdk emulator…
    If someone can help me, he will be my hero.
    BR,

  • laurent

    found !!!
    Don’t use the ovi tool for uploading the midlet !!
    Use the PC suite tool and then the “install applications” button (no drag&drop).

  • Vincent

    Hello,

    I want to access the mifare region in nokia 6212. Can you please let me know even for this i need to first use the unlock midlet. I have been unable to authenticate the emulated mifare 4k region . I used the default keys of 0xFF’s. But it failed. I have not used the unlock midlet.

    Thanks
    Vincent

  • Feng

    Hello,

    I used the second way you proposed to Unlock the SE and it said “Unlock Successful !”. But when I tried to upload applet to the Nokia 6212, it said “Authentication Failed ” error ! Does anyone face the same problem ? Please help me !

  • nfce

    Helloo,
    I am getting this error “The process of unlocking the Secure Element was not completed. Source: Could not read phone info”
    when running the unlock midlet.
    How can i solve this problem ? please help :(

  • nfce

    hello
    I get this error message “The process of unlocking the Secure Element was not completed. Source: Could not read phone info”
    when running the unlock midlet.
    How can i solve this problem ?
    pls help me :(

  • Gui

    Hello,

    I have aloso the error “no card connection” the SDK and the Omnikey reader. I have no SIM card…

    What is the probleme and how make for unlocked my secure element ???

    tks for reply

    • Fabián José

      Hello,

      The service we used for unlock the secure element is Nokia NFC Unlock Service MIDlet but, it never ends because appear the following messages:

      “The process of unlocking the secure element was not completed”. “Source HTTP Post Failed”.

      We think that is the connection to the 3G (or GPRS) and we try this:

      Preferred access point: internet.comcel.com.co
      “internet” settings from Comcel MMS: Single-shot WEB Comcel 3GSM.

      Also we try that with Movistar that is annother 3G Colombia provider.

      Could someone please help me with this troubles?

  • Germain

    Hello,

    I have tried the both methods to unlock the secure element of the NOKIA 6212. Here are my results :

    After a lot of “no server connection” issues, I managed to connect (A Sim Card is needed) and to recover another error : “Incorrect SSL server certificate”. It sounds very strange. It seems I have to re-sign the midlet but I have no available certificate. Is this error sound familiar to you ?

    For the second method, I have tried on Xp with JRE 6 and 5. Then I have the error “Smart Card Communication error 0×80100017″ in the terminal. I had to add MVS71.dll or something like that manually in the System32 folder. So I get the message “No Card Connection” with the midlet, indeed.

    If you have any idea, let me know, please.

    Thanksfully,

    Germain

  • Catalin

    Hello,

    I would like to unlock the SE on a Nokia 6212, but I can’t find the UnlockMidlet and Nokia 6212 SDK anywhere. Can somebody please help me with these tools?

    Many thanks,

    Catalin

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

